Official City Holidays

Date Observed Holiday
Friday, January 1 New Year's Day
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King Jr Day
Monday, February 15 Presidents' Day
Friday, April 2 Good Friday
Monday, May 31 Memorial Day 
**Monday, July 5 Independence Day Observed
Monday, September 6 Labor Day
Monday, October 11 Indigenous Peoples' Day
(formerly Columbus Day)**
Thursday, November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 25 Thanksgiving Day
**Friday, December 24 Christmas Day Observed
**Friday, December 31 New Year's Day (January 1, 2022)

Modified Observance

** A holiday which falls on Saturday will be observed the preceding Friday; a holiday which falls on a Sunday will be observed the following Monday.

** NOTE: Employees represented by the City Union of Baltimore (CUB) who work a non-conventional work schedule, please refer to ARTICLE 23: HOLIDAYS: ¶ C.3 of the MOU. 

Additions

Unless changed by the Board of Directors, the Municipal Employees Credit Union (MECU) will observe the City holidays.

Exceptions

In addition to the holidays listed above, employees represented by the Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge #3 (FOP) also observe the following holidays:

Friday, February 12: Lincoln's Birthday
Monday, September 13: Defender's Day (Observed)